Question by WildCraze2007: Adobe Photoshop Student Discount?? Scam?!?!?
Hi All!!
I’m in a bit of a bind and need some opinions.. I would love to get photoshop CS3 or CS4 for MAC.. but I’m not sure where to get it, besides Adobe.. A friend told me I could get a student discount, so I looked it up.. I found this site: http://cheap-oem-soft.com/manufacturer-Adobe.html and Need to know if its safe.. It sounds too good to be true.. Is it?? Is it a Scam?!?! if anyone could find out, I’d be VERY grateful!! Let me know if you need more information! Thanks everyone!

Best answer:

Answer by Roosterruler
If it sounds too good to be true, it probably is. In this case, it was too good to be true. It’s illegal.

However, your friend was right. You can get a student discount through Adobe. That’s how we purchased our software.

Now Cheap-OEM-Soft?
While that method may work, it is illegal.
(first.. would you buy anything with your credit card with the word “cheap” in it’s name?)

Take a look at what OEM is:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Original_equipment_manufacturer

Your best bet is to buy it directly from Adobe. You’ll get the assistance you need along with quality and such. And in general, the right thing to do. Participating in illegal business is wrong.

For your interest, I would especially not invest that much money into something illegal. If a company sells illegal products, what can you trust about them? Can you trust their warranty? If they lie about their products, it would seem that they wouldn’t care about their customer.

With a big investment like with Adobe, you want to do it right.

Give your answer to this question below!